2017 Montana Rural Teacher of the Year

Applications Due to the Teacher of the Year Chairperson by January 21, 2017 

Winning Teacher Announcement by January 30, 2017

Award Ceremony, February 15, 2017 - MACSS Spring Conference in Helena 




2016 Montana Rural Teacher of the Year

Leah Shannon, Arrowhead Elementary School


Leah Shannon was selected by the Montana Association of County School Superintendents as the 2016 Montana “Rural Teacher of the Year”. Ms. Shannon was honored at the MACSS Spring Conference held in Great Falls, Montana in late March. Leah now enters the national competition sponsored by the National Rural Education Association and the Monsanto Foundation. Leah will be recognized next October in Columbus, Ohio at the NREA Annual Symposium and Conference. Leah and her school received a monetary award and will get her way paid for the national conference. Good luck Leah!