The Montana Association of Elementary and Middle School Principals presents six awards for members each year.   Members are encouraged to nominate their peers for these awards to recognize achievements and to participate in national meetings.  Applications/nominations are now open and due December 14, 2018!

2019 Adrian Langstaff Award
This award is one of the highest recognition that can be given to a deserving member of MAEMSP. The award is in the name and memory of Adrian Langstaff. Adrian was an outstanding elementary principal who was a very recognized leader in his school, community and state. His life was cut short in a tragic accident.  
You can nominate a candidate by clicking  2019 ADRIAN LANGSTAFF  to access form. Nomination form is due December 14, 2018.
2018 Adrian Langstaff Award Winner:   Diane Rewerts - Troy Public Schools
Adrian_Langstaff_2018jpg.jpg - 199.98 Kb
2019 Friends of Education Award 
Recognize those individuals in your community who have gone above and beyond the normal call of duty in supporting and promoting public education.  Think of that private citizen outside of the professional educational organization who is always there to support education and goes the extra mile to further the education of Montana's youth.  The successful candidate will exemplify the following:
  • Outstanding support and promotion of public education;
  • State of local membership and leadership positions in educational boards or organizations; and
  • Participation and leadership positions in community and civic organizations

You can nominate a candidate by clicking  2019 FRIENDS OF EDUCATION  to access form. Nomination form is due December 14, 2018.


2018 Friends of Education Award Winner:  Pastor Susan Otey - Great Falls, MT
Susan_otey.JPG - 5.66 Mb


2019 Aspiring Principal Scholarship Award 

MAEMSP provides an annual Scholarship/Incentive Grant of $800 to a student successfully applying to or currently enrolled in an approved course of study for the Master of Education Degree in Elementary School Education. The applicant must have completed three years of successful teaching in elementary or middle school education (K-8) and hold a current Montana Class II teaching certificate.


You can apply by clicking  2019 ASPIRING PRINCIPAL SCHOLARSHIP  to access form. Application form is due December 14, 2018.


2018 Aspiring Principal Scholarship Grant Winner:  Amanda McGill - Clinton, MT 

2019 NAESP Conference Incentive Scholarship Award 
MAEMSP National Convention Scholarship will provide the opportunity for one of its members to attend the National Association of Elementary School Principals Conference for professional development in Spokane, WA from July 10 through July 12, 2019.  The award is comprised of the following:
  • Paid registration to the NAESP Convention;
  • Round trip air fare to the site of the convention; 
  • A letter to the recipient's superintendent from MAEMSP President encouraging him/her to grant adequate release time and financial support for meals and room in the Montana room block.
The qualified nominee will:
  • Be a member of MAEMSP & NAESP;
  • Not have previously attended an NAESP National Convention;
  • Present a report at the MAEMSP Annual State Convention the following January/February;
  • Have been involved in MAEMSP activities; and
  • Have exhibited leadership abilities 
You can apply for this incentive scholarship by clicking  2019 CONFERENCE INCENTIVE SCHOLARSHIP  and access application.
2018 MAEMSP/NAESP Convention Scholarship Winner:  Crista Anderson - Dixon Public Schools
crista_anderson.JPG - 5.30 Mb

2019 Appreciation Award 
This award is given to an individual, organization, or business that has provided outstanding support to the Montana Association of Elementary and Middle School Principals. 
You can nominate a candidate by clicking  2019 APPRECIATION AWARD  to access form. Nomination form is due December 14, 2018.
2018 Appreciation Award Winner:  Conrad Community Education Foundation (CCEF) - Conrad, MT

2019 National Distinguished Principal Award 
The NDP program recognizes excellence in elementary and middle level school leadership and is sponsored by NAESP.  It was established in 1984 to recognize elementary and middle level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character and climate for the students, families and staffs in their learning communities.  The program is based on three fundamental ideas:
  1. Children's attitudes towards learning and their perceptions of themselves as lifelong learners are established in the beginning school years.
  2. The scope and quality of children's educational experiences are determined primarily by the school principals, who establishes, through the important work of teachers and the support of caring parents, the character of a particular school's program.
  3. The dedication and enthusiasm of the outstanding principals who guide children's early education experiences should be acknowledged to both show appreciation for their work as well as to allow them to serve as models for others in the field.  
Criteria established by NAESP require the individual is a practicing principal with at least five years experience in the principalship, who plans to continue as a practicing principal.  The principal must demonstrate evidence of outstanding contributions to the community and to the education profession and should lead a school that:
  • Must be a member of NAESP at the time of the award;
  • Is clearly committed to excellence;
  • Has programs designed to meet the academic and social needs of all students; and
  • Has firm ties to parents and the community.

You can access nomination form by clicking  NDP19 Nomination Form  -  please download, complete and submit this form with support letter by DECEMBER 14, 2018.


2018 National Distinguished Principal:  Jon Konen - Lincoln Elementary - Great Falls Public Schools

NDP_2018.jpg - 227.16 Kb

If you have any questions about these awards, please contact Pat Audet at 406-442-2510 or [email protected]




2018 MAEMSP Executive Board Award Chosen by MAEMSP Executive Board Members

The MAEMSP Executive Board Award is given in a year where the 4 Executive Board members find that an MAEMSP member has gone above and beyond the call and has shown outstanding service to MAEMSP. It is intended to award a current MAEMSP member who has greatly contributed to the organization through his/her involvement and work. The award is given by the MAEMSP Executive Board and may or may not be given on an annual basis.  This year we have selected a person that fits the bill in many different facets.  

2018 MAEMSP Executive Board Award: Carole McKittrick - Mountain View Elementary - Great Falls Public Schools

Board_Award_2018.jpg - 246.89 Kb