MASSP Principal of the Year   

Applications/Nominations are closed for the MASSP Principal of the Year.   

The National Principal of the Year program recognizes outstanding school leaders who have succeeded in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students.  These principals are acknowledged by their peers for the exemplary contributions they have made to the profession.  The program honors high school principals who have demonstrated excellence in the areas addressed by the selection criteria. 

Award Criteria

• is a member of MASSP and NASSP at the time of the award;
• is an active principal of a school in which a commitment to excellence is clearly evident;
• has been an active principal for at least three consecutive years;
• will remain in active service in a position of school leadership during the school year in which he/she will serve as Principal of the Year;
• can provide evidence of student performance through compiled data – testing, etc.
• shows a strong commitment to the principalship through active membership in professional associations;
• is respected by students, colleagues, parents, and the community at large;
• assumes an active role in his/her community, distinguishing himself/herself as a leader in civic, religious, or humanitarian activities;
• shows strong educational leadership by setting high expectations for school staff and students; and
• maintains an orderly, purposeful learning environment.

The successful candidate will be required to complete the national, formal application upon notification from the selection committee.

 2023 Montana Principal of the Year

POY_2023-1.png - 182.21 Kb

Past MASSP Principal of the Year

Al Kober 1984   Don Gilbertson 1999   Dan Grabowska 2014  
Larry Schulz 1985   Joe Jurenka 2000   Jacob Francom 2015  
Ron Stegmann 1986   Bill Schlepp 2001   Dan Kimzey 2016  
Bob Raver 1987   Robert Moore 2002   Gordon Klasna 2017  
Henry Badt 1988   Scott Dubbs 2003   Hannah Nieskens 2018  
Paul Stenerson 1989   Karen Underwood 2004   Joel Graves 2019  
Jim Wood 1990   T.J. Eyer 2005   Shawn Hendrickson 2020  
Hilary Hopfauf 1991   Rick Powell 2006    Jake Haynes  2021  
Fred Anderson 1992   Dick Kloppel 2007    Jeffrey Uhren 2022  
Dick Walker 1993   Tom Blakely 2008        
Jim Barsotti 1994   Joe Paine 2009        
Tim Dunn 1995   Les Meyer 2010        
Herman "Ed" Plass 1996   Shelly Fagenstrom 2011        
Kelly Taylor 1997   George Rider 2012        
Mike Michunovich 1998   Paul Furthmyre 2013