National Distinguished Principal

Applications/Nominations are closed for the MAEMSP National Distinguished Principal

The NDP program recognizes excellence in elementary and middle level school leadership and is sponsored by NAESP.  It was established in 1984 to recognize elementary and middle level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character and climate for the students, families and staffs in their learning communities.  The program is based on three fundamental ideas:
  1. Children's attitudes towards learning and their perceptions of themselves as lifelong learners are established in the beginning school years.
  2. The scope and quality of children's educational experiences are determined primarily by the school principals, who establishes, through the important work of teachers and the support of caring parents, the character of a particular school's program.
  3. The dedication and enthusiasm of the outstanding principals who guide children's early education experiences should be acknowledged to both show appreciation for their work as well as to allow them to serve as models for others in the field.  
Criteria established by NAESP require the individual is a practicing principal with at least five years experience in the principalship, who plans to continue as a practicing principal.  The principal must demonstrate evidence of outstanding contributions to the community and to the education profession and should lead a school that:
  • Must be a member of NAESP at the time of the award;
  • Is clearly committed to excellence;
  • Has programs designed to meet the academic and social needs of all students; and
  • Has firm ties to parents and the community.

2024 Montana National Distinguished Principal Award

Stacy 2.jpg - 13.36 Mb

Stacy Lemelin


Meadowlark Elementary, Billings Public Schools




Past MAEMSP National Distinguished Principals

Jim Bergman 1984   Nonnie Hughes 1999   Darren Schlepp 2011  
Warren Morehouse 1985   John Moffatt 2000   David Wick 2012  
John Ferro 1986   Keith Kohnke 2001   Joe McMahon 2013  
Ken Lane 1987   Peggy Ames-Nerud 2002   Bill Salonen 2014  
Stan rathman 1988   Mary Ann Cosgrove 2003   Aaron Griffin 2015  
Ken Nordquist 1989   Don Idso 2004   Ron Goodman 2016  
Darrell Rud 1990   Tina Lynch 2004   Sue Sweeney 2017  
Clayton Croff 1991   Ross Farber 2005   Jon Konen 2018  
Bruce Whitehead 1992   Sharon Redfern 2006   Marlin Lewis 2019  
Hal Hawley 1993   Kim Anderson 2006   Travis Niemeyer 2020  
Chuck Fuller 1994   Phillip "Duby" Santee 2007    Pam Meier 2021  
Kathy Pattee 1995   Jim O'Neill 2008    Shelley Andres  2022  
Richard Jonasen 1996   Chuck Gameon 2009    Kim Marzolf  2023  
Jan Riebhoff 1997   Ronee Boisseau 2009    Stacy Lemelin  2024  
Tammy Lacey 1998   Cindy Worrall 2010